Friday, October 20, 2006

Marshmellow Peeps cat


Marshmellow Peeps cat
Originally uploaded by dawnkua.

I bought this yesterday before the AVA meeting. This is the first time I've seen Peeps in cat shapes!

19 Comments:

Anonymous Anonymous said...

Cat food or human food? Looks like you are going to eat it.

20/10/06 9:49 PM  
Blogger Dawn said...

Human food - and actually no, there are marshmellows in it, which aren't vegetarian so I can't :) Michelle was the one reaching for a bite.

21/10/06 1:17 AM  
Blogger E_Cat said...

i thought marsh mellow is from a plant?

they looked really delicious, where can we buy this?

21/10/06 8:37 AM  
Blogger Dawn said...

Marshmellow is made from gelatin and gelatin is made from boiled animal bones, though it is possibly now to find vegetarian marshmellows now.

I got it from a little shop that sells party favours at Raffles City, but I think supermarkets like Jasons should have it. As for you E_cat, I think you should be able to get it at your nearest supermarket - they're quite common in the US.

21/10/06 9:17 AM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Oh you r vegetarian. No wonder so slender.

21/10/06 12:35 PM  
Blogger Wei said...

haha the slender comment is funny... have u met each other?

the marshmellows looks cute, i wouldnt eat things that are too "cute" cos im afraid... jus like jellybabies, im afraid to bite them ahahah

21/10/06 1:36 PM  
Anonymous Lynn said...

I thought gelatin is made from seaweed, kinda like agar-agar. I guess I need to watch the contents properly before I eat stuff from now onwards since I'm also vegetarian.

21/10/06 1:46 PM  
Blogger Dawn said...

Haha - thanks Anonymous, whomever you are :)

It was a sad day when someone told me it was from animal bones :) Technically, it's not considered an animal byproduct because of the fact it's boiled down by some of the labelling laws. Agar-Agar is however vegetarian and I am guessing that may be how they make vegetarian marshmellows.

21/10/06 3:00 PM  
Blogger Dawn said...

Wei -:)

21/10/06 3:00 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Gelatin (used to make Jell-o and other desserts) is made from the boiled bones, skins and tendons of animals.
An alternative substance or if you want to use substitute, use Agar-Agar, which is derived from seaweed.

More info from this website
Vegetarian Frequently Asked Questions - Ingredients 1: Gelatine
http://www.ivu.org/faq/gelatine.html

22/10/06 4:25 AM  
Blogger E_Cat said...

ewww... i didn't know marshmellows was made from gelatin. yes, gelatin is 'derived' mostly from pig's or cow's bone.

i think i can pass that : p

22/10/06 5:46 AM  
Blogger kuro.shiro.neko said...

speaking of gelatin, if the package does not say it's vegetable gelatin, then it is likely the gelatin is derived from animal.

eg. candies like polo (beef gelatin) and skittles.

22/10/06 10:59 AM  
Blogger vegancat said...

Capsules of medication and supplements are also usually made from animal-source gelatin. Gel or capsule from vegetable source usually has an indication on the bottles. There is an alternative to animal gel. It is up to consumers to make a statement.

22/10/06 1:08 PM  
Anonymous Aminah Bee said...

Yes gelatin mostly contain pork bones or animals slaughtered non-halal (animals not killed according to Islamic law).
Which is why Muslims are forbidden to eat anything that includes gelatin in it, that includes marshmellows too.

An alternative substance to gelatin or if you want to use substitute, use Agar-Agar, which is derived from seaweed.

I am the "anonymous" one that posted the earlier message pertaining this matter, and mentioning for more info, go to this website -

Vegetarian Frequently Asked Questions - Ingredients 1: Gelatine - http://www.ivu.org/faq/gelatine.html

22/10/06 7:13 PM  
Blogger budak said...

Gelatin is also found in many of those jelly chewy sweets e.g gummy bears. Malaysia produces halal gelatin though, I think.

Substitutes for gelatin that are from plant sources include pectin (fruit fibres), modified starches (from maize, tapioca, potato), agar, carrageenan (from seaweed), konjac (from a kind of yam), guar gum, xanthan gum and locust bean gum and gum arabic (from a tree). If used, these ingredients should be indicated on food labels.

23/10/06 10:27 AM  
Blogger eslina said...

It looks really cute though. I wish they were gingerbread cookies instead of marshmellows...

26/10/06 4:43 PM  
Blogger Dawn said...

Me too!

26/10/06 5:57 PM  
Blogger zouk said...

http://gift-malaysia.com/category/halal-food/gelatine-gelatin/ is a good source for halal gelatin.

26/1/08 11:18 AM  
Blogger Dawn said...

Thanks Zouk - but am looking for vegetarian marshmellows.

26/1/08 11:26 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home